Scene calling order: can players pass or hold their scene until later in the order?

Question regarding scene calling order: Can players hold their scene until later in the order (if they are at a loss or if they anticipate a time challenge, for example)? Or must they pass?

Two versions of this question:
--What do the rules, as written, say? It's not clear to me--perhaps "No Contest Scenes" of page 31 of Hillfolk implies that they must either call their scene in order or forfeit and pass.
--What do house rules do player groups adopt on this point, and what is your experience with it, pros and cons?

Thanks
Sign In or Register to comment.